Learning Programmes

As a public school, Bryanston Primary follows the South African Curriculum Assessment Policy (CAPS) system of education.
Subjects include:

  • English (First Language)
  • Afrikaans (Second Language)
  • Mathematics
  • Montessori Maths (Grades 1-3 only)
  • Social Sciences (History and Geography)
  • Natural Science
  • Life Orientation (LO)
  • Music and Drama
  • Art
  • Economic and Management Science (EMS) – Grade 7 only
  • Technology – Grade 7 only

From Grades 1-3, learners will have a main class teacher, with breakaways for specialist subjects such as Montessori Maths, Art, Music and Drama, and Physical Education.

From Grades 4-7, children are assigned to a register teacher, and then move around the school during periods to subject specialists.

Physical Education forms part of the school’s curriculum and learners from Grades 1-7 participate in this activity.

Please click here for more information on promotion requirements for Grades 1-7.